Etiquette

When getting online, etiquette is not something many people pay an heed to. Its a shame but its a fact that has forced me to curl up in my personal turtle shell and actually “hide” from people. For instance today I logged into XBOX Live and immediately I was bombarded with a request to play Modern Warfare 2 and a request to chat, this in and of itself is not a problem, after all XBOX Live is a rudimentary social network. I politely declined the chat request and advised the game invite that I was planning on drinking my coffee and playing Forza 3 but that if I was on later I would be happy to play some MW2 with him. This should have been the end of the issue and I should have been able to go about my business of drinking my coffee and working towards completing Forza’s final season, sadly it wasn’t.

Over the course of the next hour I received three more game invites from the same person to play Modern Warfare 2. While 20 minutes after the first inquiry is technically later, it wasn’t exactly what I was getting at. Here is a tip folks, if you want me to play with you and I tell you I am busy, I’m busy. I’m not not playing with you because I dislike you, you would not be on my friends list if I disliked you. When and if I get a chance to play with you I will. This goes for all manner of contacting me AIM, Skype, PSN, Steam, etc… Look, I try to be as friendly as I can to people who take the time to experience my work, be it this blog, my work for Hooked Gamers, the podcasts, or what have you but sometimes I am busy with other things and can’t get to you so leave a message after the beep and I’ll get back to you, I promise, but continuously sending me the same message every twenty minutes while I’m trying to drink my morning coffee is not a way to endear you into my good graces.

Leave a Reply

