Watched – 14 April 2017

 

Well I came back for a second week. If I do it again next week, you probably be able to call this a regular feature. Don’t get too attached just yet. I mean, I am lazy and all with the attention span of a squirrel.

On to this week’s viewings.

Rogue One – 5*

I’ve now seen this a small handful of times. I think I like it more each time I see it. It is exactly what I wanted out of a standalone Star Wars film and Jyn and crew have found a place in my heart as well as the story of the franchise.

watch041417001

Neal Brennan: 3 Mics – 4*

I watched a bunch of comedy specials this week as they are an easy thing for me to watch while doing other things (like working). Only one is really worth mentioning here though. It takes something special and different to pull me away from that other thing and pay close attention. Neal Brennan’s show 3 Mics did just that. The show is split into three different aspects, performed from three different microphones. One liners, stand-up, and personal stories. It’s a weird strange show that really works because Brennan is coming from a deeply personal space. Well worth a watch.

Office Christmas Party – 2*

Despite having a phenomenal comedic cast, Office Christmas Party is a big wet sock, with a turd in it. The only way it could have been worse was if it was lit on fire, which is why this didn’t hit the 1* level. I mean, I finished it so there is that.

The Eyes of My Mother – 3*

Unsettling is the word I’d use to best describe The Eyes of My Mother. It’s like watching The Texas Chainsaw Massacre through the eyes of Leatherface. You know, if Leatherface was a pretty Portuguese woman. The perspective is both the film’s greatest asset and biggest flaw. Certainly a must watch for horror fans, just know that for as depraved and disturbed as the film is, it doesn’t show a whole lot.

watch041417002

Into the Inferno – 3*

if you are looking for a documentary on the science of volcanoes, this isn’t it. If you wanted to know about the cultures surrounding the massive fire breathing mountains though, this has you covered. I didn’t find much of the content to be engaging but the segment on, and filmed in, North Korea is a wondrous glimpse into the mystery that is that country. For me, that made the film worth the watch by itself.

The Fate of the Furious – 3*

Quick question, do you like fun, likable, diverse characters doing their best James Bond impressions? How about absolutely ridiculous stunts? If you’ve answered yes to those questions and haven’t seen The Fast and the Furious films (particularly from Fast Five on), I’m not sure what you are waiting for. This eighth film in the super franchise is on par with the past two films. Good, but not great, fun and crazy action that left me with a smile on my face.

Anyway, that is what I’ve been watching this week. Give me some suggestions for next or let me know what you thought about some of these if you’ve seen them.

Leave a Reply

