Watched – 20 May 2017

This week I hit wrapped up my Alien series rewatch and caught a little indie horror film on Netflix.

On to this week’s viewings.

Alien vs. Predator – 3*

Alien vs. Predator holds a 29 on Metacritic. Many people will tell you that it is a boring slog with a silly premise. They will also tell you that it betrays the vision of the two franchises the film is built on and somehow damages them worse than anything ever has. I will tell you differently. Yes it has a silly premise but were you really expecting something different when melding Alien and Predator together? I mean, have you seen Resurrection and Predator 2? By the time this film originally came out, both franchises had already been hurtled at high speed towards the event horizon. I like the setting. I like seeing Aliens fight Predators. I like seeing Lance Henricksen playing Bishop again. It’s dumb but it is fun and for a film like this that meshes these two together that was the best you could hope for.

Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem – 2*

This film also sports that super sexy 29 score from Metacritic but unlike its predecessor, I think this film is a dumpster fire. Instead of having a coherent and somewhat interesting story like the first, this one just drops Aliens in a small town and unleashes a Predator to come clean it all up. It’s mindless action in a pitch black setting. There are characters but none are worth caring about and you almost hope everyone dies (and thankfully they almost all do). Requiem is trash.

watch052017001

Prometheus – 4*

There is a strong contingent of people that dislike Prometheus. I understand why. It asks a lot of big, lofty questions and never comes close to answering any of them. It also features some of the dumbest scientists ever assembled in a film. I’m not bothered by this though, I don’t need the answers and films in the Alien series have always featured some of the dumbest people in horrific situations. Prometheus delivers exactly what I want out of it, expanding the Alien universe beyond Ellen Ripley and xenomorphs. And god that snake hugger scene is terrifying. So is the Kthulu-esque monster that Shaw gives “birth” to.

Beyond the Gates – 3*

I love 80s horror and even more than that, I love the attempts to recreate the feel of that era of horror with modern film techniques. Beyond the Gates looks like this from first glance. It has a stylish poster art that screams 80s horror. The intro to the movie further drives home the point with its synth soundtrack over the close up visuals of the inside of a VCR. And the premise screams 80s, with the film centering on a VHS board game. Unfortunately it never lives up to the poster or its stylish opening. It has some wooden performances and the lead is just plain terrible. But the premise is strong enough that it props up the film to make it perfectly watchable, if nothing more than that.

So, that is what I’ve been watching this week. I’ll be catching Alien: Covenant and maybe doing a rewatch of the Pirates of the Caribbean films. Let me know if you’d like me to watch something and more importantly what you thought about some of these if you’ve seen them.

3 thoughts on “Watched – 20 May 2017

  1. I enjoyed the first two Predator movies when I was a kid, everything else Predator just didn’t have the same campy over-the-top feel that I loved. I can’t really remember the second Predator film that much though. I should try to revisit that one if I get the chance. Last Tuesday I did see Covenant and enjoyed it. Did you get a chance to watch it yet?

    1. I’m not a fan of the second Predator film but I have friends that love it. I haven’t seen it in a couple years and maybe I’d enjoy the campy feel of it a bit more now…

      I have seen Covenant and will be writing up something on it today or tomorrow. We also talked a bit about it on the movie podcast I do with a buddy. But… I liked it but didn’t love it. I thought it was a fine Alien film but a poor sequel to Prometheus and answered questions I didn’t ask and its predecessor didn’t ask either. I did like Fassbender in his dual role and Waterson as Daniels was excellent. It’s a shame though that Scott keeps killing off his female leads though because I like Rapace a lot as Shaw too. Anyway, I’d probably rank it in the middle of the series.

      1. It did answer a lot of questions. When you do a write up, I’ll throw some thoughts of my own into the comments section. I’m particularly interested in some “meta”-stuff that it brought up. I was less a fan of Prometheus, but don’t have the level of vitriol that a lot of other have.

        Yeah, it’s been so long that for all I know Predator 2 could be total crap in reality while in my head its mythologized as being super fun.

Leave a Reply

