Watched – 2 June 2017

It was a light week for me this week. I caught the new Pirates movie at the theater and I did another rewatch of Rogue One and A New Hope (back to back) and caught a couple good episodes of Doctor Who as I attempt to catch up. I’m not going to talk about Star Wars or the Doctor this week but suffice it to say the movies are good and I’m really liking this season of Doctor Who.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales – 3*

Do you like the Pirates movies? Have you not grown tired of Johnny Depp’s Captain Jack Sparrow shtick? If not, then this one will probably please you. It’s dumb fun but in the best way possible. The plot is stupid (although really, aren’t they all?), the main character Henry Turner is as dull as his dad Will, but, everything else kind of works. The main villain is threatening and looks great on screen. There are zombie sharks. Geoffrey Rush continues to be awesome as Barbossa. And the new female lead continues the strong line of excellent female leads.

watch060217003

SPOILERS:

Oh and the film sets up the return of Orlando Bloom (boredom personified) and Keira Knightley’s characters as major protagonists for a potential sequel, along with one squid faced villain, so stay through the credits.

So, that is it for this week. I’ll be catching Wonder Woman this weekend and I have a host of other stuff to get to. Let me know if you’d like me to watch something and more importantly what you thought about some of these if you’ve seen them.

 

Leave a Reply

