Played – 10 June 2017

It has been over a month since I finished a game but this week, I finished two. Granted one of them was a two hour experience but it was the best gaming experience I’ve had this year so…

Anyway, on to what I’ve been playing.

Prey – Xbox 1

So, I took the advice of my Perfectly Sane Show co-hosts and “cheated” through the game by dropping the difficulty down to easy. To be fair only one of my co-hosts called it cheating and the rest said it was a perfectly valid way to get through a game you only care about the narrative in.

On one hand I’m happy I did it as I can firmly say that I’ve experienced the full narrative that Prey had to offer. On the other hand though I kind of wish I had just dropped it last week as the ending(s) were less than stellar and didn’t quite live up to the rest of the game’s story. It does have an interesting twist at the end but it doesn’t quite hit as well as the twist in the opening hour. Anyway, I’m glad I’m done with it. Maybe I’ll get around to writing a full review.

played061017001

NHL 17 – Xbox 1

I’ve played a handful of pre-season NHL games this week with my newly drafted superstar. I’m grateful the difficulty meshes with your player’s level as my first few games were a slight struggle to get traction. Being a third line center, after a year of playing on the top line against weaker non-NHL opponents, is a big adjustment. I’m hoping to perform well enough to hold a spot though as I don’t think I can go back to the CHL for another year of play. If I get demoted from the team, I’ll probably cash out as the Cup finals only have, at best, two games left and there won’t be any hockey on TV to pull me through.

Injustice: Gods Among Us – Xbox 360 via Xbox One

I don’t play fighting games for a couple reasons. 1) I am terrible at them. 2) Unless it is a straight puzzle or rhythm game (like say Tetris or Guitar Hero), I generally like some type of narrative to help pull me through. There are obviously exceptions but when tied with #1, fighting games generally don’t do it for me. Injustice checks off the 2nd reason for me and I like DC heroes enough that I’m willing to give it a go even if I stink up the arena. And boy do I stink up the arena. I’m playing on easy and I still lost sometimes. I like the story enough that I’m going to stick with it. The cinematic nature of the story delivery is amazing.

played061017002

Monument Valley 2 – iOS

I loved the original Monument Valley. It was a great little puzzle game. It had smart but not super difficult perspective puzzles, great music, and phenomenal minimalist visual style. Monument Valley 2 is more of that with a few more added wrinkles. Some of the levels require you to move two people through the level and those puzzles are some of the best in the game. The final puzzle is pure magic as it has the two characters to move through the level in different timelines, where moving something in the day time will effect what happens on the night portion as you rotate the level. It’s really smart and fun. And this may seem weird but it has supplanted Horizon as my favorite game of the year so far.

Quiz-Up – iOS

I’m still playing this daily. My reign as best in PA in games is over though. I’m 45k points behind the new leader and I don’t have hours to devote to fighting to get it back. This is my little play it when I have five minutes here and there game. I am still in the top 3 though.

Need to Return to

Mass Effect: Andromeda – Xbox One

This week is the week I think. I want to finish this before jumping in to anything else new.

Final Fantasy II – Playstation Vita

I know I need to get back to this but I’m just dreading it. I need to force myself to at least give it a little more time before cashing out.

So, that is what I’ve been playing this week. Do you have any thoughts on these games, if so let me know in the comments. And tell me what you’ve been playing as well.

 

2 thoughts on “Played – 10 June 2017

  1. Damn, I haven’t played any of these. I’m slacking! Persona 5 has consumed my gaming life. It seems you were less than enthused with Prey. Would you still recommend I play it since I loved the Xbox 360 version. Also, how is Andromeda so far? I’m thinking of taking that on once I finish Breath of the Wild.

    1. Prey started off great but it failed to keep that initial high going for me. It gets a little to combat heavy in the back half and I didn’t think the combat was all that great.

      I never played the original Prey but from what I know of it, the two have no real connection outside of the name. But I’d recommend it to fans of Bioshock.

      I like Andromeda but it is missing that special something that pulled me through the first ME did. It’s a much slower burn than the original games were but then again the premise is far different too.

      I just got a Switch last week so I’ve been playing Zelda this week and I’m really enjoying it so far.

Leave a Reply

