Read – 11 June 2017

I’ve somehow fallen about two months behind on my comics… I’ll need to rectify that.

On to my week in words that other people have written.

Finished

The Island of Doctor Moreau by H.G. Wells

read06112017003

The Island of Doctor Moreau is rightly a classic piece of science fiction. Despite its obvious datedness in regards to the world we now live in and what we know of genetic manipulation, this story still works really well. Where it doesn’t work is as a feature film starring Marlon Brando and Val Kilmer, although maybe the freak show film they’ve put together there is actually just another creation of Moreau. Anyway, it is an easy recommend if you love science fiction.

Aquaman #21-24

read06112017002

In an effort to clean up some of my comic book backlog, I decided to tackle the last two months of Aquaman. Issues 21 and 22 wrap up the four part series H2.O. After reading this arc I was convinced of throwing in the towel on the series. I’ve given it a year now and it just wasn’t capturing me. The political storylines in Atlantis are engaging but Arthur really isn’t. And it doesn’t help that in 22 issues (11 months) I haven’t been drawn in by a single villain of Aquaman’s, they are all just super lame. The concept behind Dead Water in H2.O is actually pretty cool, as a defense mechanism for an alien entity, fear turns those near it in to ravenous monsters. But somehow Arthur, Mera, and the band of US Special Forces Street Sharks with them make it the least exciting horror story ever put to paper.

This is the third time over the past two decades that I’ve tried to give DC’s fish talker a chance too but before I could close the lid on Aquaman, I had two more issues to get through. And I’ll say this, I’m going to stick around to at least see how this closes out. Issues 23 and 24 start a new story arc called, Crown of Atlantis. The denizens of Atlantis are not having Arthur’s absentee king nonsense anymore. The two parts here set up Arthur being voted out of his throne and letting an Atlantean ultra nationalist that has been committing acts of terrorism take over. It’s the most interesting the series has been since the first issues of this new Rebirth. I’m going to take it one issue at a time.

In Progress

Dragon Teeth by Michael Crichton

read06112017004

Michael Crichton is one of my all-time favorite authors, so it is always a treat to get a new work of his, especially now that he has been dead for nearly a decade. Dragon Teeth is his third posthumous publication, following the mediocre Pirate Latitudes and the pretty great Micro. Dragon Teeth’s cover is reminiscent of one of his most famous works, that of course being Jurassic Park, but this novel takes place in the 1800s and details an archelogy expedition west of a Yale professor and his students. Crichton’s writing here is crisp as always and while I’m still getting to know the characters, there is a strong set up of mystery and intrigue in the first act of the book. As of right now, I’m really enjoying it.

Well, that is what I’ve been reading this week. What have you been turning pages of? 

 

6 thoughts on “Read – 11 June 2017

  1. I’ve always got a backlog of comics to catch up on as well. Not been a regular reader of Aquaman, but I hear the Rebirth series has been good. I’ve enjoyed Michael Crichton’s books in the past, wasn’t aware of the this third posthumous publication. Will have to check it out. I’ve been enjoying Stephen King;s Bazaar of Bad Dreams, a great collection of short stories. Comic wise I’ve been enjoying a lot of Rebirth books, Detective Comics, The Flash, and Hal Jordan and the GL Corps 🙂

    1. I love myself some Stephen King, I have nearly his entire works in hardback.

      I’ve never gotten into Flash or GL but I’m reading Batman, Detective, Batgirl, Batwoman, Green Arrow, Suicide Squad (I’m getting close to cutting it though) and the aforementioned Aquaman. GA and the bat books are pretty good.

      1. Oh yes, I’m reading Green Arrow as well. That’s such a great Rebirth book. I don’t read much Marvel now, only Daredevil tbh. Got fed up with all the reboots, crossover events, and relaunches. I did like IDW’s Transformers comics, but they’ve been rebooting them recently, haven’t been quite as good.

      2. I’m reading the Star Wars books from Marvel but I’ve cut all their superhero ones from my pull. I am reading The Walking Dead, Saga, and Sex Criminals outside that though too.

      3. The Walking Dead is good, I tend to get those in the trade collections when they come out. I’ve not been reading much Marvel for ages. Gone back to reading a lot more Dc since Rebirth though. IDW have some great stuff too, and Dynamite are also good.

  2. I have Moreau on my list, too! I can imagine that being difficult to make as a movie, and I’ve the legend of how bad the film was. I’m currently embroiled in seven books and I may be adding eight to that list since I just picked up a reserved from the library. I have no idea how I’m going to schedule that though lol.

Leave a Reply

