Watched – 16 June 2017

It was a super low-key week for me. I didn’t make it to the theater like I wanted to and I only caught one film this week.

Cabin Fever: Patient Zero – 2*

I have a weird fascination with the Cabin Fever series. I kind of love the original film that Eli Roth did 15 years ago. That film had a great premise that at the time, was quite timely. It had wonderful sense of dread, genuine scares, and one of the most disturbing scenes I’ve ever witnessed on film. It was a perfect one off horror film.

But of course Hollywood can’t just leave anything by itself. It has to franchise everything. Seven years after Cabin Fever it got a sequel and five years after that, a prequel. And of course it received a remake of the original last year that misfired on nearly everything that was great about it. But we’re here to talk about Cabin Fever: Patient Zero, the third film in the original series. The film that is going to tell us all we ever wished we knew about the flesh eating disease.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes we don’t need answers to everything.

And we really didn’t need Patient Zero. But I guess Sean Astin needed the paycheck so, it exists.

watch061617002

Patient Zero is a bad movie. It is creatively bankrupt as it takes the exact same premise of the original but instead of a cabin in the woods, it is a beach on an isolated island. Four friends, of which I cared about zero of them, end up on this island where illegal experiments are taking place in regards to a flesh eating disease. It is water based so, when two of the crew goes snorkeling, they quickly end up exposed to the disease and start to break out. While this is happening the two decide to have intimate relations in their tent and we end up with a disgusting scene that only succeeds in turning my stomach a bit.

The entire film is super generic, perked up by some excellent, but at times ridiculous, gore effects. The few deaths the film does have are entertaining but all in all, there isn’t anything to get super excited for.

That is it for this week. Next week, I am going to try and hit up a couple things and maybe catch some more of Black Mirror but nothing is certain. Let me know if you’d like me to watch something and more importantly what you thought about some of these if you’ve seen them.

 

Leave a Reply

