My Two Cents – Super NES Classic Edition

A funny thing happened today. I was sitting at my desk, thinking about what games I’d like on a potential (probable) SNES Classic to fashion in to a blog post. I had written down a few games on my notepad when I got an alert on my phone from The Verge that this was no longer a potential piece of tech. It was coming. And it was coming in roughly three months.

I immediately read the article on my phone and then did a search on my desktop to get the details straight from the horse’s mouth.

$79.99

Available 29 September

Two controllers

21 Classic games

Slipping past me on my first two reads of the information (the Verge article and Nintendo’s own site) was the fact that this would include the never-before released, Star Fox 2. That’s a pretty cool get and one that has softened my initial reaction to it.

But let us talk about that initial reaction.

Despite knowing full well that I will hunt one of these little things down to the ends of the Earth if need be, my first thoughts on this were muted. $80 and 21 games? That is $20 more than the NES Classic and 9 less games. Yes, the ones included are some all-time favorites, but SNES fans, those like me, that are going to rush out and buy this thing probably already own most of these games. Possibly multiple times over, if you are like me and just can’t say no to a Nintendo re-release.

How many times can one own The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past?

supernes003

The answer to that question is as many as there are out there but that is besides the point, or rather may be the entire point.

Yes, it would be insane to create a device like this and not include A Link to the Past, Mario World, Super Metroid, and Donkey Kong Country but these are also the most likely games to be owned by even your most moderate fans. So $80 and if the NES Classic is any indication, a full on scavenger hunt over a five state area to secure one? That seems a bit steep. $60 and I think this post comes off with me rhyming about my love of the big N.

But at least there are two controllers. And they are longer than three feet. And it has Star Fox 2.

supernes002

Honestly though I can’t be angry with the selection of games with the device. It is a pretty awesome collection of some of the SNES’s best titles.

Super Mario World

Super Mario Kart

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

F-Zero

Super Metroid

Street Fighter II Turbo

Super Punch-Out!!

Super Castlevania IV

Donkey Kong Country

Mega Man X

Kirby Super Star

Final Fantasy III (America’s version of Final Fantasy VI)

Kirby’s Dream Course

Star Fox

Yoshi’s Island: Super Mario World 2

Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars

Contra III: The Alien Wars

Secret of Mana

EarthBound

Super Ghouls ‘N’ Ghosts

Star Fox 2

supernes004

Are there other games I would include here? Sure. ActRaiser, Chrono Trigger, and Final Fantasy II (America’s Final Fantasy IV) jump to mind immediately. And even though I don’t love them, Donkey Kong Country 2 & 3. Super Bomberman, Harvest Moon, Pilot Wings, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time. Oh that is nine… weird.

Actually I could keep going and drop another handful of JRPGs and platformers but you get the point. While the Super NES Classic line-up is great, it could have been better.

Anyway, now the hunt begins. Hopefully I can find a place to pre-order one.

What is your take on the Super NES Classic? What games would you have liked to see included in the mini box?

6 thoughts on “My Two Cents – Super NES Classic Edition

    1. The rumor is that the N64 Classic Edition will be next year. I’m hoping for it as well, although I doubt they will Goldeneye as the licensing on that is a mess. 😦

  1. I’m really excited for Star Fox 2! Unfortunately, these things will likely sell out instantly so I have little hope of actually getting one. I would have liked to see all 3 Donkey Kong Country games and Chrono Trigger (I missed out on that gem).

    1. Nintendo is saying they will have more stock than the NES Classic but who knows what that means.

      I’m honestly surprised that DKC2 and DKC3 aren’t part of the package, they seemed like no brainers especially since the series is still going fairly strong. And I too am saddned by the lack of Chrono Trigger, I guess they didn’t want to overload it with Square games which may explain why Final Fantasy II and ActRaiser are missing as well.

  2. Hundred percent agree, they could have done better. I wouldn’t be too fussed about getting it, but my girlfriend wants one of us and one for her sisters! and who am I kidding, I’ll enjoy it anyway. I love the original Star Fox, so the prospect of playing Star Fox 2 is so exciting.

Leave a Reply

