Watched – 7 July 2017

You’d think that being at home and not doing much of anything would allow me to have watched some more stuff but it just didn’t work out that way. Staycations can be quite tiring, especially when you have kids.

Baby Driver – 4*

I know that everyone falls over themselves to worship Edgar Wright and I’m the weird guy in the corner grumbling to himself that I just don’t get it. Don’t get me wrong, I like Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz well enough but I don’t love them and don’t get me started on Scott Pilgrim. The only thing that movie has going for it is Mary Elizabeth Winstead with blue hair… damn it, you got me started on it.

Anyway. Baby Driver.

watch070717002

It is really good. Super fun, original, and stylish. Some of it starts to fall apart if you start peeling back the layers a bit. Like the female characters are one dimensional. Jon Hamm and Jamie Fox’s characters are nothing more than overblown cartoon characters. The ending misses the mark. And a couple other things but none of this really matters as you are watching it because Wright keeps things moving (until the ending) with his stylish approach. Ansel Elgort has charm for days. The music clicks well, although some will view it as deep cut central and may be less enamored with it. The driving is fast and furious (sorry, I couldn’t help myself). But mostly it is just good fun, something so many big budget sequels we’ve gotten this summer have been failing at.

GLOW – Rating Undecided

I’m almost done, and should wrap it up this week but seven episodes in and I can say that I really like it. The show does a great job of making all the characters feel important and despite having initial distaste for a few of them, I’ve come around on all of them. The entire cast is great. The look and feel is 80s through and through. It’s kind of perfect. I can’t see changing my opinion on this unless it goes completely sideways in the last three episodes.

That is it for this week. Next week I’ll have Spider-Man: Homecoming and hopefully something on Netflix’s Castlevania series. Let me know if you’d like me to watch something and more importantly what you thought about some of these if you’ve seen them.

3 thoughts on “Watched – 7 July 2017

  1. I’m also rapidly becoming the fan of Glow. I didn’t expect to really like it that much, but it’s genuinely quite funny, and I also think the cast is superb. The 80s thing’s definitely hitting the right nostalgia vibes too, so all-in-all, I’m really glad I gave it a try.

  2. Loved Baby Driver. After reading your review, I didn’t realize it but you’re right – one dimensional female characters did it no favors. Other than that, I loved the rounded out villains – I felt like they did a bit of a fake-out as to who Baby’s nemesis would be, as opposed to who it ended up being. So stylish, so refreshingly original when even all the previews were some form of reboot/remake/sequel… loved it.

  3. Reading this is making me want to add yet another status post to my weekly revue, but I already spend so much time with the three I have. I’ve been watching some awesome stuff lately and I want to talk about it. Netflix Castlevania is freaking amazing, and I can’t wait for the next season *swoons over Alucard* I’ve also been watching Transformers Prime, which is quite a bit older, but neither I nor my husband had caught it, so we’ve been watching two or three episodes a day. It’s a fantastic follow up to the original cartoons, and I highly recommend it.

    My brother watched GLOW and he loved it. I was much more into wrestling when I was younger, but the memories I still have are fond. I might have to check this out.

Leave a Reply

