Played – 8 July 2017

I was home for a few days and instead of watching a bunch of movies, I cracked in at a bunch of games. I made some major progress in a couple games I’ve been playing for a while, revisited one of my favorites, gave a shot at a free-to-play game and lost money on it, and put myself on the verge of divorce (on my 15th anniversary no less).

Puyo Puyo Tetris – Nintendo Switch

My wife is by no means a gamer. She had a bad experience as a kid with The Legend of Zelda and she hasn’t been a fan ever since. She will occasionally play some stuff like Peggle or Candy Crush but generally nothing more than that. She does however like Tetris, I mean, who doesn’t. And so I bought Puyo Puyo Tetris for the Switch as a game that she could play when the rare mood struck.

played070817001

We’ve been playing a bit of versus mode. I’m lucky I’m still allowed to sleep in the house. She doesn’t like to lose. I think this plan may have backfired.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – Switch

I’ve completed my first Divine Beast (the elephant one in the Zora territory). I like this take on the traditional Zelda temple, although I could have done without the boss fight I was extremely unprepared for at the end. I did however finally beat the Water Gannon creature thing and it felt great. This game is so good.

Mass Effect: Andromeda – Xbox One

I think I’m nearing the final act. I’ve gotten the four golden worlds to 100% vitality and a lot of the loyalty quests seem to be wrapping up. I’m still enjoying it but at over 60 hours now, I am starting to get a little burned out on it and do kind of wish for the more tighter focus of the original games. It is Mass Effect but also so different that I can see where people are off put by it.

Marvel Heroes Omega – Xbox One

Marvel Heroes Omega is a game I’ve been waiting for quite some time for. I’ve played the PC version and enjoyed it quite a bit but I prefer gaming on my console far more so this version was a welcome announcement. Turns out, it still needs a lot of work. And they’ve kind of busted the character unlock and ability to progress in the game for free.

When I played the PC version, I was able to unlock any character I wanted at the outset. From there I either could continuously log in and get rewards that would eventually allow me to purchase a new character or sometimes, I would even get a free character just for playing that day. The console version has changed this. You get one character (Daredevil) and enough in game currency to buy a low grade hero. If you want to play as Iron Man, or Rocket, or Spider-Man, prepare yourself for a $14 charge.

Marvel Heroes Omega_20170423230451

I bit at the $14 so I could play as Iron Man. Issues with purchasing have caused my card to be charged but I’ve yet to receive the in game money to buy my character. I also can’t play as the free character Daredevil. So, I’ve been able to play the game, up to level 10 but there it basically becomes a brick that I’ve lost $14 to. Awesome.

Gazillion’s tech support is working on fixing the issue and is going to manually credit me the items to my account but as it stands right now, I can’t recommend Marvel Heroes Omega to anyone.

Diablo III – Xbox One

A game I can recommend though is Diablo III. Recently the Rise of the Necromancer was released for the five year old game and for whatever reason my son has been on a Diablo III kick and asked me to get it for him. I also decided to give it a try and man, Diablo III is such a great game. So easy to slip back in to. So much fun to play. And the Necromancer is really cool, albeit, maybe a bit steep in price.

played070817004

So, that is what I’ve been playing this week. Do you have any thoughts on these games, if so let me know in the comments. And tell me what you’ve been playing as well. 

4 thoughts on “Played – 8 July 2017

  1. As soon as I finish watching the Let’s Play for Mass Effect 3, I want to jump into Andromeda. The Switch still alludes me, but I shall have one one day.

    I’m playing Final Fantasies Type-0, Brave Exvius, and V, and I just finished the first ending to The Room Three on my Kindle, but there are other endings I need to explore. I’m really hoping Fireproof games keeps making them, because they’re a puzzle game lovers dream!

    1. I’ve been thinking about playing The Room after seeing it on your recaps for the last couple weeks. I didn’t know it was playable on the Kindle though, I might have to get it there.

      1. You definitely should! I think the first one is free and the subsequent ones were maybe $2.99 a piece? I was excited it was available on the Kindle, too. It’s how I found out the Kindle was an Android device lol. I don’t have a lot of room left on my iPhone, so I’ve been using my Kindle for any games.

Leave a Reply

