Played – 15 July 2017

I bought a bunch of games this week but I didn’t play a whole lot. However, I did throwback to some older games. One I remembered fondly but, maybe it doesn’t hold up great. And the other I remember falling off of really quickly and I’m not sure why.

 

Mario Kart 64 – N64 via the Wii U

I sold my N64 over 15 years ago. I’m not sure why but I haven’t had one in more than a decade and a half. I just bought a new one this week. I just wanted to have one on my shelves of consoles that I now have going in the basement. One of the games I remember most fondly from the system is Mario Kart 64. I wasn’t prepared to pay $60 for a MK64 cartridge this week but it turns out I could get the game on the Wii U for $2. I bought it and gave it a quick spin.

played071517003

Umm… maybe it is the Wii U gamepad and would play better on an actual N64 controller but I don’t feel that it held up great. I could very well be that the hours and hours I’ve spent with MK8 over the past few years have spoiled me but I was a bit disappointed by it. I’m afraid some of the other games aren’t going to hold up either (notably four player Goldeneye and Perfect Dark). We’ll see.

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age – Playstation 4

OK, so… Final Fantasy is one of my favorite gaming series of all time. There are two games in the series that I’ve played extensively but don’t necessarily love. Those are Final Fantasy VIII and Final Fantasy XII. Both games I’ve put a great many hours in to but have never beaten. And with both games I never got comfortable with their systems. But, I’m willing to give things another shot so here I am, tackling Final Fantasy XII yet again. First impressions of the remaster is that it is a really pretty game with phenomenal cutscenes. This isn’t really different from the original version of the game though.

onehourFFXIIZodiac002

Super Paper Mario – Wii

I bought Super Paper Mario when it released a decade ago. I remember playing the first little bit and then never going back to it. Well, randomly, I did go back to it this week. And that game is fantastic. Obviously as a Mario fan, I love the side scrolling 2D parts but most enjoyable is the puzzle aspect to the game, where you make the game 3D and can traverse within the backs and sides of those same levels. It is kind of genius and I’ll certainly be playing more of that.

So, that is what I’ve been playing this week. Do you have any thoughts on these games, if so let me know in the comments. And tell me what you’ve been playing as well. 

One thought on “Played – 15 July 2017

  1. FF is one of my favourite game series too! However, I’m still a big noob to it, haha. I’ve only beaten the FFXIII trilogy, VII, and X. I played XII for about 10 hours before I got bored and dropped it. I guess Vaan really didn’t interest me that much. I will definitely be picking it up again when I see Zodiac Age go on sale. I got to the second last boss in VIII but could never beat it. I intend to give it another try someday! I’m so close to beating IV now, but I got distracted by Dragon Age Origins…

    Happy gaming! 🙂

Leave a Reply

