Played – 23 July 2017

It was a Nintendo kind of week for me. Specifically a Mario kind of week. And there is nothing wrong with those kinds of weeks, even if it puts me behind on just about everything else.

Castlevania – NES via the NES Classic

I wrote about this on Thursday, so if you want my detailed thoughts on it, head on over to that post but short take is that Castlevania is a great game that I don’t really have the patience for anymore.

Super Mario Bros. 2 – NES via the NES Classic

Even with my abuse of save states, Castlevania had an ability to frustrate me. So when I was kind of fed up with that game, I decided I’d take a crack at another game I have fond memories of from my childhood. I’ll be writing up something on this on Thursday, so come back then for my Throwback write-up but preview, my memories have painted this game in a much better light than it is in practice.

Throwback072717002

Super Mario Bros. 3 – NES via the NES Classic 

So, I finished Super Mario Bros. 2 and well, why not ruin my memories of one of my all-time favorite games by playing some of it on the NES Classic, since that seems to be the theme this week. Turns out, Super Mario Bros. 3 is still a freaking awesome game and my memories of it are pretty accurate outside of a lot of the levels seeming really short but short or not, they are some of the best designed platforming levels of all time.

played072317001

Super Mario Sunshine – GameCube 

I think I’ve mentioned this before but Sunshine is a huge gap in my gaming history. I owned a GameCube but for whatever reason it was in the midst of my turn against the brightness of Nintendo’s style of games and I only played a bit of Sunshine. I recently got a new GameCube and by new, I mean used, and one of the first things I got for it was Sunshine. The GameCube had a defect (it wouldn’t save to a memory card) so I had to get that fixed but now Sunshine is purely operational. I was thinking I’d play right through it but then I got in to the 8-bit games and I’m thinking… why not just play through the core games in order now so… I may shelve this for a bit but I will play it all the way through before Odyssey comes out.

So, that is what I’ve been playing this week. This week I plan on kicking off Castlevania II and wrapping up Mass Effect: Andromeda while plugging away at Mario games. Do you have any thoughts on these games, if so let me know in the comments. And tell me what you’ve been playing as well. 

2 thoughts on “Played – 23 July 2017

  1. I managed beat Castlevania without save states, but I like that feature of the Virtual Console and the NES Classic because a lot of these games (i.e. Super Ghouls n’ Ghosts) are a little unreasonable to complete in one sitting, though I did hear the Japanese Famicom Disk version saved between levels. In either case, congrats! It’s quite an accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

