Played – 30 July 2017

So last week, I planned on wrapping up Castlevania II and Mass Effect: Andromeda and I did both those things. And in my workout of the NES Classic, I also wrapped up Super Mario Bros. 3, which leaves me pretty clear in regards to ongoing games I won’t be able to continue while I’m away on vacation this week.

Castlevania II: Simon’s Quest – NES via the NES Classic

Congrats to anyone that was able to play this game and beat it without a guide. I don’t know how you did it but, super impressive feat.

If I did not use a guide, I never would have gotten through the game. I would have faltered on the second mansion, which requires you to kneel in a certain spot, for a certain period of time, with a certain item equipped. All with no clear indicators for how or why you would do that.  It is just kind of mind boggling as to why you would do certain things in Castlevania II.

played073017001

But who cares, someone forged the path and I followed in their well trodden footsteps. Take out the mind-warping puzzles and you are left with a damn good action platformer. I’ll be writing up a Throwback Thursday on it in the coming weeks.

Super Mario Bros. 3 – NES via the NES Classic

Super Mario Bros. 3 is another game I plan on writing up a Throwback Thursday for. It’s probably just going to be me gushing about how great it is for six or seven paragraphs but really, can one say bad things about this game? I think it is psychologically impossible.

Splatoon 2 – Nintendo Switch 

I did not love the original Splatoon. In fact, I’d probably go so far as to say I actively disliked a good portion of it, even though I generally enjoy online shooters. So, why pick up the sequel when by all accounts, Splatoon 2 is just more Splatoon? I don’t have a great answer for that one other than I was intrigued by their co-op horde styled mode, Salmon Run.

played073017002

I booted up the game. Created my Squid Kid. And was immediately lost in the game’s confusing menu structure. I wasn’t able to figure out how to play Salmon Run so, I played a couple of regular online matches. It is certainly more Splatoon.

Mass Effect: Andromeda – Xbox One 

I know people kind of hate this game. I can even see why some people aggressively do so. But after close to seventy hours of playing it, I feel I’m happy with the experience and would be happy for more. That is probably not going to happen but I’ll hold on to any potential thread of hope.

Andromeda is very, very different from the Shepard trilogy. And those differences are enhanced when you realize that Ryder isn’t as well rounded, her crew isn’t as engaging, and many of the missions are just glorified fetch quests. But unlike the Shepard trilogy, Andromeda offers a real sense of exploration that drove me through the game. It won’t be for everyone, and really no game is, but this one hit the right spots for me.

So, that is what I’ve been playing this week. I’ll be leaving for vacation in short order so I’ll be packing my portable Nintendo systems to go with me, including the Switch. So, maybe I’ll get some Zelda in and make some progress there. Do you have any thoughts on these games, if so let me know in the comments. And tell me what you’ve been playing as well. 

3 thoughts on “Played – 30 July 2017

  1. I got to level a little bit in FFV, because I’m trying to defeat Shiva in Walz Castle, but I might just say to hell with it and move onto Walz Tower and come back later. I didn’t get to play any Type-0 again this week. No time, but I played some Brave Exvius and started my review of SOMA. Oh, I’m also getting really deep into this The Last of Us Let’s Play.

    I’m probably picking up Splatoon 2 at some point myself, and I want to play Andromeda now that I’ve finishing watching an LP of the original trilogy 😊

Leave a Reply

