Read – 11 August 2017

I hadn’t realized that I hadn’t done one of these in a while, so there is a little bit to catch up on. Most of what I’ve read though, I’ve done so over the past couple weeks, in fact I finished up four books while away on vacation, so there really wouldn’t have been that much to catch you all up on before now anyway.

Finished

read071617002

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

This was the second book we’ve done for family book club. I had to pull my middle daughter through it but I think by the end she enjoyed it. Even if here response during book club was that she found it to be boring because the concept was dumb. She then proceeded to talk out her ass as we discussed the book and watched the movie. Every time she had a comment about how something was cool, I told her that I thought she said the concept was dumb.

There isn’t much to say about the Harry Potter books that hasn’t already been said but they really are great stories. Our reading The Sorcerer’s Stone and my son’s newfound interest in the series (he wants to see the movies and I’ve forbid it until they read the books) has gotten me on a bit of a Potter kick as well. I’ve recently started hunting down the Harry Potter video games. I know… probably a bad idea but it’ll give me something to write about as I play them.

read081117003

Gwendy’s Button Box by Stephen King

Stephen King is my favorite author. He is the sole author that I still buy physical copies of to read as I have a hardback collection of all his books. So, obviously a new Stephen King book would grace my shelves immediately.

Gwendy’s Button Box is more of a novella than anything else but it is also one of King’s tightest stories in recent years. It plays with the hypothetical question of if there was a button that if pressed you would kill everyone on Earth, would you press it? As a little girl, Gwendy is given the monstrous task of safekeeping a box that has magical properties. The box has terrible powers that could destroy everything but it pays Gwendy by granting her amazing luck and talent along with monetary returns. Gwendy is a great character and you feel the weight of her responsibilities as it weighs on her. Excellent all around.

read081117002

The Flipside by Shawn Johnson

Where my son picked Harry Potter as his book club selection my teenage daughter picked this YA novel about a young elite class gymnast that hides who she is in an attempt to have a normal life. Basically Hannah Montana but with gymnastics instead of pop music. It’s fluff. Nothing more, nothing less.

read081117004

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Volume 1: Squirrel Power by Ryan North and Erica Henderson

I’ve been sitting on this one for a while despite hearing some really glowing commentary about it. Well, that glowing commentary is pretty spot on. Squirrel Girl is a smart and funny book that subverts the standard superhero tropes and in many cases just mocks them.

read081117005

The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia edited by Patrick Thorpe

I finally pulled the trigger on this one. It is a really good chronicle of the Zelda narrative although it feels a slight bit outdated with it not featuring anything on A Link Between Worlds and Breath of the Wild. It looks great on my coffee table.

In Progress

read070917001

Dark Run by Mike Brooks – 18% Done

Nothing much to report here as I’ve only read a chapter or two since the last update. I need to return to it full on.

read081117006

The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger Born by Peter David/Robin Furth/Jae Lee – 71% Done

One of the things I’ll be writing about in my weekly Watched post is the adaptation of Stephen King’s epic fantasy series, The Dark Tower. But the fact that the movie is out did get me wanting to revisit the series in a way but I didn’t want to go full on into a seven book re-read so I decided to revisit the comic series instead. The Gunslinger Born is a retelling of the events Roland tells his group about in the fourth book, Wizard and Glass. This is a phenomenal adaptation and you can feel the love for the source material in every panel. If you love The Dark Tower or are just mildly interested in it, I recommend this collection without reservation.

Well, that is what I’ve been reading this week. What have you been turning pages of?

One thought on “Read – 11 August 2017

Leave a Reply

