Played – 13 August 2017

I’ve only been back from vacation for a week and I already feel that I need another vacation. Maybe one where I can just lock myself in my basement and play games/watch television. That isn’t bound to happen so, I’ll just trudge onwards.

Despite my fatigue and desire for a new vacation I played some things this week.

Finished

Splatoon 2 – Nintendo Switch 

After vacation I was about 40% of the way through the single player portion of Splatoon 2. I plowed through the remainder of the game this week and well, it is more Splatoon. If you liked Splatoon, you will probably like Splatoon 2. If you didn’t, or were of mixed feelings, on the first game, then Splatoon 2 isn’t going to change your mind in anyway.

The campaign is a series of challenge maps in an area that culminate with a boss battle in an arena. The fact that you are forced to use certain weapons on certain levels (including boss levels) is a minus in its column, especially as the difficulty can peak and valley because of this design decision. When it works, the game is wonderfully fun and pulls inspiration from other great games, like the rail grinding from Ratchet & Clank. But when it is off, the game can be controller tossing frustrating or frustratingly dull. Overall though I had fun with the campaign but I don’t think I’ll return to it.

played081317001

This of course leaves me with the multiplayer component to play and, well, I still don’t love it. For the record, I didn’t love the original game’s multiplayer either. Gameplay wise it is fine, even if it doesn’t play to my strengths in shooters. I can hold my own in the multiplayer and winning, like in anything, is a great feeling. But losing is even more rage inducing, especially when your team seems to not even be trying to play. And this seems to happen more often than not for me. Stack on that with the, still odd decision, to lock modes and maps on a cycle and I’m struggling to love things about Splatoon 2’s multiplayer.

In Progress

Pyre – PS4

I loved Supergiant Games first tile, Bastion. I have yet to play Transistor as I kept waiting for it to eventually end up on the Xbox One. Well it didn’t and now they have released their third title, Pyre. So, PS4 it is I guess.

Anyway, Pyre is something different. Like Bastion, it is a fantasy RPG but the gameplay in Pyre is done through a strategic sports game called the Rites. Think basketball mixed with football but with defensive magic spells that banish players from the field of play for a period of time. The goal in the Rite is to extinguish the opposing team’s Pyre, so every time you score you extinguish their flame a little bit depending upon who on the team scored.

played081317002

Pyre features a huge and fascinating story, with some great characters and while the gameplay is the sports game, most of the game is spent experiencing the story and world. Seeing as there are certain choices that can be made, I want to return to it after this playthrough and see where those other paths may take me.

So, that is what I’ve been playing this week. I’ll be playing more Pyre this week, along with the first episode of the new Telltale Batman season. I may also figure out how to get my headphones to work on my PS4 and give Hellblade a shot. Do you have any thoughts on these games, if so let me know in the comments. And tell me what you’ve been playing as well. 

One thought on “Played – 13 August 2017

Leave a Reply

